on October 29 | by

Welcome to the brand new Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland (SWAI) website – designed and built by Harbinger Design & Media.

In existence since 1961, the association has over 120 members across all media platforms and responsible for recognising the heroes of Irish football through our annual awards.

A full list of our awards and winners can be found here and there is a page dedicated to the Brendan McKenna Memorial Award – a writing competition for third-level students.

Make sure to check out the features – Q&A, Travel Bug, My Week, Flashback, Green Giants – which will be ongoing

We would like to thank our members, our sponsors Airtricity, and partners Sportsfile, 3, and John Givens Sports for all of their help, patience and encouragement.

If you have any queries, you can contact us by clicking here


SWAI Committee
President: Paul Buttner
Vice President: Paul O’Hehir
Secretary: Gareth Maher
International Affairs: Emmet Malone
Domestic Affairs: Mark McCadden
Treasurer: Ruaidhri O’Connor
PRO: Alan Neary

« »