Personality of the Year Stats

on December 27 | by

With the dust settled from this year’s Airtricity/Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland Annual Banquet, here is a breakdown of stats from winners of the Personality of the Year award.


0 recipients are still playing in the Airtricity League following the retirement in 2013 of Owen Heary

1 time a recipient has won the award following a season in the First Division – Liam Buckley

3 recipients have been non-Irish and each hailed from England – Dave Bacuzzi, Paul Cook, Ian Baraclough

4 recipients have also won the SWAI Special Merit Award – Alfie Hale, Brian Kerr, Jim McLaughlin, Eoin Hand

4 recipients have won the award with more than one club – Johnny Fullam, Jim McLaughlin, Paul Doolin, Liam Buckley

4 recipients have managed the Republic of Ireland at one stage – Liam Tuohy, John Giles, Eoin Hand, Brian Kerr

4 clubs who had winners of the award are no longer in the league – Drumcondra, Cork Celtic, Cork Hibernians, Sporting Fingal

6 recipients have won the award on more than one occasion – Johnny Fullam, Jim McLaughlin, Glen Crowe, Pat Fenlon, Paul Doolin, Liam Buckley

10 recipients in the last 11 years have been managers – Alan Mathews, Pat Fenlon (2), Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin, Liam Buckley, Paul Cook, Michael O’Neill, Ian Baraclough, Liam Buckley


Wins by role
29 Players
19 Managers
5 Player/Manager
1 Admin Staff


Wins by clubs
11 Shamrock Rovers
7 Bohemians
5 St Patrick’s Athletic
4 Dundalk, Shelbourne
3 Derry City
2 Athlone Town, Cork City, Drogheda United, Limerick, Sligo Rovers, Waterford
1 Cork Celtic, Cork Hibernians, Drumcondra, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Sporting Fingal, UCD

*The only recipient of the award not attached to a club was FAI Secretary Joe Wickham


Click here for a full list of the winners


*Image courtesy of Sportsfile

« »