Tony O’Donoghue elected SWAI President

on September 24 | by

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the SSE Airtricity Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland was held this week, with Tony O’Donoghue elected as the new President.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, members met for Monday’s AGM via Zoom video call.

RTÉ Group Football Correspondent O’Donoghue steps up to succeed the outgoing Philip Quinn, while Irish Independent Chief Sports Analysis Writer David Kelly takes over from Tony as Vice President and The42’s Gavin Cooney replaces David Sneyd as Secretary.

The Cork native is our first President from the broadcast sector since Gabriel Egan, who held the role from 1994-96.

Owen Cowzer (International Affairs), John Fallon (Treasurer) and Noel Spillane (Domestic Affairs) have all been re-elected, while Ben Blake remains on as Public Relations Officer.

The SWAI would like to take this opportunity to thank Philip and David for their tireless efforts and warmly welcome the new officers to their positions.

« »