on October 25 by

One of the main reasons why the Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland (SWAI) was set up in 1961 was to be able to award those who had excelled in Irish football with the recognition that they deserved.

By starting with the Personality of the Year, the association would be able to show appreciation to anyone connected to Irish football, not just the players and managers. That is also reflected in the other awards presented annually.

The SWAI is extremely proud of its tradition of honouring those who make a difference in the domestic and international game. Here is the list of our awards:

Personality of the Year
Goalkeeper of the Year
Special Merit
Press Officer of the Year
Club Website of the Year
Player of the Month