Brendan McKenna Memorial Award

Unique writing competition for third-level students

The 2015/16 Brendan McKenna Memorial Award is now closed. You can read Ryan Bailey’s winning entry here.

The competition was created in memory of former Evening Press journalist and FAI media officer Brendan McKenna, and is open to third-level students looking to break into football journalism.

The winner will receive a cash prize and the chance to shadow one of the country’s top football writers on an international match day, if their entry is selected as the best by our panel of judges.

If you have any question feel free to reach out to us on Twitter or Facebook.
Brendan McKenna Memorial Award Winners

2015 – Ryan Bailey (Griffith College)
2013 – Jamie Headon (UCD)
2012 – Amanda O’Reilly (Dublin Business School)
2011 – Neil Treacy (University of Limerick)
2010 – Niamh Griffin (DCU)
2009 – Philip Margetson (Griffith College)
2008 – Seamus Dunne (Griffith College)