Goalkeeper of the Year

Rarely given the credit that they deserve, goalkeepers often fail to make shortlists for main awards, so the Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland (SWAI) created this award for the League of Ireland stoppers.

The last man back is always the last line of defence, but, quite regularly, goalkeepers prove to be the hero and the domestic game in the Republic of Ireland has seen some top-class No 1’s through the years.

Set up in honour of Des Casey, former FAI President and UEFA Vice-President, this is one of the SWAI’s main awards and is presented at our Annual Banquet.

Goalkeeper of the Year Winners

11 January 2019; Former Bohemians goalkeeper Shane Supple with the Goalkeeper of the Year award during the SSE Airtricity Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland Awards 2018 at the Conrad Hotel in Dublin. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***

2018 – Shane Supple (Bohemians)
2017 – Mark McNulty (Cork City)
2016 – Mark McNulty (Cork City)
2015 – Gary Rogers (Dundalk)
2014 – Mark McNulty (Cork City)
2013 – Brendan Clarke (St Patrick’s Athletic)
2012 – Gary Rogers (Sligo Rovers)
2011 – Gerard Doherty (Derry City)
2010 – Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers)
2009 – Brian Murphy (Bohemians)
2008 – Brian Murphy (Bohemians)
2007 – Brian Murphy (Bohemians)
2006 – David Forde (Derry City)
2005 – Michael Devine (Cork City)
2004 – Steve Williams (Shelbourne)
2003 – Steve Williams (Shelbourne)
2002/03 – Barry Ryan (UCD)